Quick Confirmation - Data Security On Work Computer

fish
fish
Community Member

Hi,

I've been thinking about this for a little while now and am finally asking. I've joined an organisation that's Windows based but there's a healthy view to individuals being able to install legitimate productivity tools that suit them.

As wonderful as 1password.com is I am really missing the convenience of the browser plugins and I have to log into lots of different dev and test etc environments. I have a 1Password subscription.

My question is, if I install 1Password on my Work Windows machine and install the browser plugins (I use several different browsers for different purposes) is my 1Password data secure from the internal network and system admins that have all levels of access and control?

Regards,

Fish.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• derek328
    derek328
    Community Member

Depends on your organization's threat model and systems in place.

If you work at a typical small-mid sized firm, that's probably fine. On the other hand, if your employer is some sort of government agency, financial services company, technology firm etc, there should be no presumption of privacy since there are plenty of enterprise solutions including screen recordings, key logs, HTTPS scanning, etc.

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni