Vault access by multiple accounts - do I understand correctly?

Options
cssbz
cssbz
Community Member

Hi.

I'm about to set up a Family account. I've been using 1Password since 2008, but vaults and multiple accounts are new to me.

It's taken me a while to develop a mental model for all this - I've had quite a few misunderstandings along the way. Below is what I'm thinking today. I believe I have the right end of the stick now, but I'd really appreciate if someone could have a read through, and tell me if I'm wrong anywhere.

1. We have three family members, so we'll create three accounts.
  2. Each account uses a Master Password, gets a Secret Key, needs an Emergency Kit (unless we rely on account recovery).
  3. The secret key is created automatically and stored on each client. It is used to encode transmissions, and never transmitted itself.
  4. The first account to be set up is the "Family Organiser".
  5. The family organiser can initiate account recovery for others in the family.
  6. The family organiser can create vaults, and can assign manage / edit / view permissions for each vault & account combination.
  7. Each account gets access to vaults as per those permission settings.
  8. A simplified view of how these permissions are implemented: each vault has a key, and each account keeps copies of keys for vaults they have access to.
  9. These keys are different from master passwords and secret keys, and aren't visible in the user interface.

Thanks!

Ashley.

1Password Version: 7.9.4
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 10.13.6

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member
    Options

@cssbz Yes, that's a good summary.

I would add that each user gets their own private vault which only they can see and to which they always have read/write access.

• ag_tommy
    Options

@cssbz