To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

How do you actually set up security key. Do I have to have authentication app?

Options
Samtheman67
Samtheman67
Community Member
edited March 2023 in Memberships

How to set up a security key. Do I have to have an authentication app to set it up? Or can just use the security key. Also I am not a techie. Can I use my security key also on other app to set up other apps? I run the latest version of 1password and macOS. Also when I log in do I still use my password and then use the security key to verify to log in?

Thanks for any input!!

Sam Siegel

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:How do you actually set up security key. Do I have to have authentication app?

Comments

• Hey @Samtheman67

How to set up a security key. Do I have to have an authentication app to set it up? Or can just use the security key. Also I am not a techie. Can I use my security key also on other app to set up other apps? I run the latest version of 1password and macOS.

You can learn how to set up a security key here - How to set up a security key with 1Password.

You do not have to register an authenticator app to use your security key as a form of 2FA. Security keys are compatible with 1Password 8 on all platforms and can be your only form of 2FA.

Also when I log in do I still use my password and then use the security key to verify to log in?

2FA is required upon the sign-in of a new device. Devices that have been authorized will not need to satisfy 2FA.

I hope this helps, and let me know if you have any other questions.

• Samtheman67
    Samtheman67
    Community Member
    Options