Sync functionality between Mac and iPhone

Options
iceout
iceout
Community Member

I have a question about Syncing a vault between the Mac OS X app and the iPhone iOS app

How is it determined what the final Vault will look like on both devices if an item is deleted from the iPhone but not the Mac before Syncing.

Will it add the item back to the iPhone because it is still in the vault on the Mac?

Another example: what if i changed a password for a login item on the mac after a sync and then changed the password again for that same login item on the iPhone before syncing and then do a sync what will the final item have for a password?

Along that same line what if I add a note to an item on the mac and also add a note to the same item on the iPhone and then sync. Would the final item end up with both notes on each device.

Hoping this makes sense so someone can describe it to me so it makes sense, does that make sense? :-)

Comments

  • Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

    Hi @iceout,

    Those are some good questions! I'm pretty sure I understand what you're asking:

    How is it determined what the final Vault will look like on both devices if an item is deleted from the iPhone but not the Mac before Syncing.

    Will it add the item back to the iPhone because it is still in the vault on the Mac?

    The purpose of syncing your 1Password data between devices is to have the same/matching information on each device. So, if you delete an item from 1Password on your iPhone, that item will be deleted from 1Password on your Mac when it syncs (actually it will be moved to the Trash in 1Password, so it won't be fully deleted until you empty the 1Password Trash).

    Another example: what if i changed a password for a login item on the mac after a sync and then changed the password again for that same login item on the iPhone before syncing and then do a sync what will the final item have for a password?

    If you edit the same item on both your Mac and iPhone before the sync, that would create a conflict. The way we handle that is to create a section in that item and label it "Conflicts", and store the conflicted information there (it would have the same Conflict section on both your Mac and iPhone). When you view the item and see that, you can edit the item and decide if that conflict info should stay or go. Once you correct that and save the changes, those changes will sync to your other device.

    Along that same line what if I add a note to an item on the mac and also add a note to the same item on the iPhone and then sync. Would the final item end up with both notes on each device.

    Like the example above, you would end up with a Conflict section in that item. One of the notes you added would be in the normal notes section, the other note would be in the Conflict section, and you can decide what you want to do with it.

    Does that help to answer your questions? If you have more questions about that, just let us know!

  • iceout
    iceout
    Community Member
    Options

    Thanks @Drew_AG that does clear up the questions I had regarding the Sync.

    One more question. If I change the Master password on either the Mac or the iPhone does that also move over on a Sync?

  • Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

    Hi @iceout,

    Another good question! The short answer is: yes. But please note that if you change the master password from one device, you may need to unlock 1Password on the other device with your old master password one more time so it can sync the changes. Once it does that, you should be able to start unlocking it with the new master password.

    We're here for you if you need anything else! :)

This discussion has been closed.