1Password disappeared and now I can't find all my data

Options
catharinawidell
catharinawidell
Community Member

Hi Team,
so yeah from one day to the next - my 1Password disappeared. All my data gone. I went to the apple store today and they said it didn't look like I chose a method of back up when I first set the app up... it doesn't seem stored in iCloud and I don't recall syncing it to dropbox... I may have but I don't remember doing it and even if I did - I wouldn't know how to access it. The apple store guy went into my iCloud manage storage feature and could see there is 64.1 KB of data SOMEWHERE... can you help me figure out what happened? I'm not very tech savvy so I'd prefer a contact number where I can reach you if possible and go over it on the phone?
Thanks!
Regards,
Catharina Widell

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGKyle
    AGKyle
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @catharinawidell

Sorry to hear you've had trouble like this. There are a few ways you could recover data, I'll list each one below:

Sync
    If you were syncing to Dropbox or iCloud you could sync to that again. It sounds like you did not sync to Dropbox, and you are seeing something in iCloud. It's likely that the information you're seeing there is remnants from the older iCloud sync system we used. So that data is probably quite old (going on 2 years now). It's possible it might be recoverable from a Mac.

On another device
    If you have your 1Password data on a second device, usually this is done via Sync, but not always. Sometimes people have separate data, though similar data, on multiple devices. If you have data on another device we could setup sync and move that data over to the iOS device.

Apple Backups
    These are done two ways: iCloud backups and iTunes backups. It sounds like the Apple Genius said you were not making these. Is that correct?

1Pasword Backup