Require password to show software licences - can I avoid this?

Options
neilB
neilB
Community Member

HI,
I am using a single vault on (I must say "the superbly useful") 1Password.
I don't have a 1Password "account" I have the standalone purchased version.

As recommended, I have a complex 4 word master password, it makes sense to do that for sure. Especially, I feel, as my 1Password data is out there on Dropbox.
I am spoiled, though, by the fingerprint log in on my iPhone, so occasionally feel reluctant to type in the whole master password when in the mac. I have read up why its not possible to add such a sensor to my macs - it's insecure.
Of course, when I want to see serious items like bank log ins etc. the long master password is totally valid.

But, typing in the long password quite a few times a day has got me thinking, could, say, less serious items like software serials perhaps be accessed without a password or with a simpler one? I don't think hackers want my software license codes (or do they?)
Is there away to do this? I mean section off "less important" stuff like software licence numbers into an area that’s protected by a short password?
If an additional vault might do this, is it easy to move my software serials into a second vault?

I was happy with my software licences in Yojimbo which usefully did not password them. But I'd like to have everything in one place and 1Password has become that place.

thanks and happy new year all
neil

1Password Version: 6.8.5
Extension Version: 4.6.12.90
OS Version: OSX 10.12.6
Sync Type: dropbox

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hey @neilB -- it's a great question. In fact, we used to have such a thing in 1Password 3 for iOS - for each item, you could require the Master Password, or (for items you deemed less important), you could just use the 4-digit PIN code (that was before Apple introduced Touch ID).