1Password 7 Version 7.2.2 seems to be missing Backup option

nycyclist
nycyclist
Community Member

I recently upgraded from v.6 to 1P v.7.2.2 on Mac but don't see the option to Backup (or restore). I have a family membership subscription. Thanks.

1Password Version: 7.2.2
Extension Version: 7.2.2
OS Version: 10.13.6
Sync Type: 1Password Acct
Referrer: forum-search:backup missing

Comments

• georgebh
    georgebh
    Community Member

I have the same problem. I upgraded also and have the same version and do not see a backup option. Also, when I went to folder where backups have been stored it has not backed up since I upgraded.

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni

Welcome to the forum, @nycyclist (and hi, @georgebh)! I'm sorry for the confusion. This isn't a function of upgrading from 1Password 6 for Mac to 1Password 7 for Mac, but of switching from a standalone setup to a 1password.com membership. When you have a 1password.com account, your data is backed up automatically, on the 1password.com servers. You have the local cache of your data, which is what you see when you open the 1Password app (the actual SQLite file itself is at ~/Library/Group Containers/2BUA8C4S2C.com.agilebits/Library/Application Support/1Password/Data/OnePassword.sqlite - but the backups are all done for you, remotely, as part of your 1Password account. These backups are much more granular than the older local ones you were used to in standalone 1Password -- you can even restore individual single items to any previous state, using the 1password.com web interface. Hope that's helpful. :)

• nycyclist
    nycyclist
    Community Member

Thanks Lars! I guess I got confused about the backup options when reading https://support.1password.com/backups/#you-can-also-create-and-restore-backups-of-standalone-vaults

because it seems to suggest the ability to create standalone backups:

"You can also create and restore backups of standalone vaults:

Mac: Create a backup