editing existing Vaults

Options
JamesHenderson
JamesHenderson
Community Member

Hi,

I am just learning about multiple vaults.

At the time of creation you can change the picture etc. How do you do this for an existing vault?

Thanks!
J.

Comments

• thightower
    thightower
    Community Member
    Options

@JamesHenderson

Hi James

At this time its not possible, its slated for a future update.

• JamesHenderson
    JamesHenderson
    Community Member
    Options

no problem :-)

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi, @JamesHenderson.

Like @thightower mentioned, there’s currently no way to directly edit a vault’s details after creating it. However, there is another way described in this article:

Edit a vault's details

I hope that helps. :)

• JamesHenderson
    JamesHenderson
    Community Member
    Options

thanks @sjk!

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

My pleasure, @JamesHenderson. :)

• michaelaye
    michaelaye
    Community Member
    Options

The above linked article doesn't work for me in

1Password 4
    Version 4.4 (440002)
    Agile Web Store

When I click on the copy of thy .agilekeychain I am NOT being asked to configure a new vault, it just opens the vault that this .agilekeychain file was connected to for syncing. Any tips?

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @michaelaye,

Have you tried disabling syncing with the keychain in the original vault before opening that keychain to create a new vault?

Now that it's possible to copy/move multiple items between vaults, here are alternative instructions for changing vault details:

• Run File > Backup as a safety net to restore if necessary.
    • Create a new secondary vault with desired details, noting that its name must be unique.
    • Copy (or move) items from a current vault to new secondary, noting that this can be processor/time consuming for larger numbers of items so doing it in smaller batches may be preferable.