Showing passwords without reentering Master

Options
mrVVoo
mrVVoo
Community Member

I'm rather new to 1Password but one annoying thing is that i need to have the app unlocked in order to use my passwords in browsers. But while 1Password is unlocked i can have a look at all clear passwords without reentering the master password.

In my opinion the native OS X keychain solves this better. Even if you have unlocked a keychain (to use it in safari or in other applications) you have to reenter your user password to reveal the clear text.

Is there an option to change it? I don't want to have 1Password unlocked all the time when i need a password while I'm using Safari. If a colleague is using my mac for a couple of minutes, 1Password won't lock automatically if I'm not doing it (maybe i forget it) and then he could lookup all the plain passwords -> that's not nice.

Am I getting something wrong cause I'm a newbie on 1Password or can I change this behavior?

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @mrVVoo,

Thanks for writing in to us about 1Password! I'm sorry to hear that you're having difficulties here right now. Luckily we can get this straightened out pretty simply.

You're right, 1Password does need to be unlocked in order to user your data in the browser extensions. But your passwords certainly don't have to be displayed in clear text. Go to Preferences > Security and under 'Display' check the option to 'Conceal passwords'. While this option is selected, you can still view individual passwords while tapping the option key when you are viewing an entry, but all passwords will, by default, be concealed.