Security Question/Suggestion

Options
xcellentmac
xcellentmac
Community Member

I'm an Mac IT professional. I've had a few clients have their gmail accounts hacked (they didn't have 2 step verify enabled). A few others had their iCloud accounts hacked, but I think they gave out their password to a phishing scheme. In either case, if they had had 1password syncing using either goggle or iCloud, their 1password database could also be obtained. Of course, their 1password password encrypts that data. But, if a industrious hacker wanted to, and I have seen industrious hackers get into my client's online accounts, they could simply write a program/script to repeatedly try to gain entry into 1password. I suggest some type of lock-out of the program after x number of incorrect password attempts. Which isn't a guarantee either. Because by placing ALL your passwords into ONE basket, so to speak, it makes that basket very valuable to hackers.

Comments

• randy_va
    randy_va
    Community Member
    Options

xcellentmac -- regarding your comment,_ "... if they had had 1password syncing using either goggle or iCloud ..."_

How do you sync using Google? I thought that 1Password sync was through iCloud, Dropbox or wi-fi.

I'm not trying to detract from your excellent suggestion, just wondering ... :)

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    Options

AgileBits folks have said in the past that limiting the number of entry attempts isn't nearly as good as ensuring that you have a strong master password. It's a conscious design decision not to make such limits. If you do have a sufficiently strong password, there isn't a practical way for a bad actor to break in.

Here is a blog post discussing some of this.

• Hi guys,

@xcellentmac, hawkmoth's post is good way to start, the blog link include several articles that explains why we designed it like this.