1Password5 not syncing

Options
Harvdog
Harvdog
Community Member

I have been using 1Password with my Mac for 3 years now and never really bothered with syncing, until recently when i bought an iPad and iPhone. I have updated to 1Password 5 on all of my devices (including a Macbook Pro) with little success in syncing them all together. Originally I began with Dropbox and then switch to iCloud with little difference. If I add a new login account or simply change the password on an existing account the changes fail to show-up on other devices or my laptop. Should I delete everything and reinstall 1Password 5 onto each device? Will I lose all of my passwords? (I think YES). And finally and probably most important do I need to use a different APP on IOS8 than on Yosemite? Computing would be so much easier if everything synced.

Harvey

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @Harvdog‌

I'm sorry to hear you're having to fight with sync services.

So just to confirm; you are running iOS 8 and Yosemite on all devices and on top of that you have 1Password 5 on all of them. One important question is did you purchase 1Password from Apple's MAS (Mac App Store) or direct from AgileBits? This is important because iCloud support is now limited only to applications purchased via Apple's MAS. So if you have purchased 1Password direct from us then iCloud won't be an available option.

Regardless of where you purchased it though Dropbox should be a viable option.

So the first thing to do is disable sync on all devices. Having done that if you're running the MAS version of 1Password then I'd recommend the Reset iCloud Data option that you can find in Help > Troubleshooting. That will wipe the sync data from iCloud - each local vault will remain untouched.