Defaulting to "Create new login" + Not sorting by date = Sadface

flavorthirty
flavorthirty
Community Member
edited March 2015 in Mac

Can you help me?

I've been using 1Password for a few years now and since it almost always defaults to 'create new login', every time I need to update my password for an existing login, I now have a gigantic list of out of date logins for the same sites.

Also, since the logins aren't sorted by date, it's a crapshoot to know which one will work.

Comments

• Vee_AG
    Vee_AG
    1Password Alumni

Hi @flavorthirty,

Wow, yes, that is a lot of Google! No wonder you're sadface, I would be, too! But I have some suggestions on how you might go about clearing this up, and hopefully avoid such a mess in the future.

First off, I'm guessing the reason it kept registering those as new logins is because Google has so many different sites, so they were all saved under different URLs. But when you are prompted to "create new login," you should also be able to choose "update existing login" instead, which will help keep the list from growing, as long as you can remember to do it in the moment. And you can also give the login item a more meaningful name when you're saving it, so rather than just Google, you might want to call it "Google - work" or "Google personal" or "Google-work-March 27, 2015" or "Google applebananaunicorn"... anything you want!

Now, on to cleaning up all these logins you already have. In the main 1Password app, when you look at All Items, you should see a small dropdown menu below the search bar. You can use this to reorder all your items by password age, date created, date modified, or lots of other factors. So if you know you want to keep the most recent Google login item you added, you can use this to find and delete all the older ones (and maybe rename the one you keep! I like Google applebananaunicorn, but that's just me).