Setting up 2nd user on mac

Options
dillida
dillida
Community Member

OK, I'm new to 1Password today. I purchased 1Password on a Mac this morning shared by my wife and I. I will also use on two iPhones .

I've set my (our) fault up and am now trying to configure on my wife's Mac user side of our computer. I'm fine with one vault / one master password and setting up folders inside of 1Password for your...mine...ours. (Unless there's a strong recommendation about this.)

I selected 'existing user' not 'new user' and I'm at the screen asking how I want to sync. Thought selection would be 'This Mac' and now I'm looking at screen asking me to select a folder for .agilekeychain or .opvault.

I'm stuck.

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @dillida,

It's great that you're starting to use 1Password! (Thanks for your purchase!)

So if I understand, you and your wife have different Mac user accounts on the same Mac, and you set up 1Password on your Mac user account, now you're trying to set it up on your wife's Mac user account? If so, in this case it might help to think of each Mac user account as a separate Mac. The "I've used 1Password before" option assumes you've already used one of the sync options in 1Password (like Dropbox sync), or that you have a copy of a backup file from 1Password, etc. So, you'll need to set up something in 1Password from your own Mac user account first.

Before getting into sharing your vault, let's start with syncing your data. It sounds like you want to sync your 1Password data with some iOS devices, and I noticed that you also purchased a license for the Windows version of 1Password. To best way to sync your 1Password data between Mac, iOS, and Windows is to use Dropbox sync. To set that up in 1Password on your own Mac user account, you can follow these steps.