Too Strong Master Password

JosipB
JosipB
Community Member

Does anyone else feel the same way?
I have a too strong master password, it takes me at least 5 times to have it right. (Then I start typing character by character, which is pretty annoying to just login on a website).

I'm sure some of you have/had the same issue. What is a suitable solution without compromising the security (which is at the end why we all use 1password =) ?

I'm happy to hear about your experiences.
Cheers
Josip

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@JosipB: I'm sure you'll find others that share your feelings. Personally, I only run into this issue if A I'm in a rush and my fingers get away from my brain, or B I'm typing carelessly on a tiny screen, where I'm used relying on autocorrect.

One suggestion I'll make is to adjust your auto-lock settings a bit. You definitely want a strong Master Password, because it's ultimately your strongest defense when it comes to protecting your data. But I find that I typically use 1Password in sprints (to pay a handful of bills online or make some purchases, for example), so using reasonable timer settings allow me to enter the Master Password once and complete my tasks before 1Password auto-locks and requires my Master Password again. Let me know which version you're using and I can get into the specifics. :)

• JosipB
    JosipB
    Community Member

Thanks brenty for your quick reply.

I'm using v4 - I've played around with the auto-lock settings, but I definitely will continue until I found the right balance.
    Are you thinking of pairing iOS with OS X, e.g. when I have my iPhone near the laptop, that I don't need to enter the Master Password at all? Or Using the Touch ID of the iPhone to unlock the OS X app?

Thanks again and have a good day!
    Josip

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited May 2015

@JosipB: You're very welcome. I am sorry for the confusion!