Start over

chiaras
chiaras
Community Member

Hello,
I’ve been using 1password Pro for about 4 years and I would like to change my Master Password.
I’ve read on this forum that you guys don’t suggest to change it, because it does not change the underlying encryption key.
I’ve already changed the master password through the preference pane on my mac.
What I would like to do now is backing up the only vault I use (the primary, the default one created by 1password), erase it and then start over, from scratch; then using my backup for the created vault, in order not to insert manually all the data.
Can anyone please tell me how to do it?
If I follow this procedure will I have a new encryption key created by the new master password?

Thank you very much!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    edited August 2015

@chiaras - The way I've done what you want to do is to export my data to a 1pif file from the File > Export menu. Then I follow the instructions for How do I start over with an empty vault? Once I have started over with an empty vault (a new one with new keys will be created when you follow the interaction screens you'll see when you start over). I then import (File > Import...) into that new vault.

You must be careful with the exported 1pif file - isn't encrypted. Be sure to use secure empty trash to delete it.

If those directions are too brief, there is a longer discussion about how to do it in this forum post by @JasperP.

• chiaras
    chiaras
    Community Member

@hawkmoth - Hello, thank you very much for your help and time!
    I'll try what you suggest.
    One last question: What about the data synced via iCloud?
    If I start over with an empty vault on my Mac, what do I have to do to start over on my iPhone?
    I would like to delete all the data on iCloud as well.