1P5 log in on iPhone 6Plus

dlm67
dlm67
Community Member
edited August 2015 in iOS

Simple: When I open my iPhone 6Plus, 90% of the time I must enter a code. Sometimes it accepts my fingerprint, but this is random.
Why can't I open 1P5 with my fingerprint all the time?

1Password Version: 5.3
Extension Version: Latest version
OS Version: OSX 10.10.5
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• thightower
    thightower
    Community Member

@dlm67

AFAIK, The use of the fingerprint and the corresponding acceptance and or denial is all handled by the phone. All 1Password does is pop up the authorization prompt and then the phone handles the actual authentication. 1Password never sees the fingerprint.

This is based upon what I saw in the developer WWDC session, when the touch sensor was made available to app developers for authorization prompts.

I am not a developer so that is the only data I can personally relate to.

To add to your topic for me Dropbox is the worst app for my fingerprint with only 30% being successful . 1Password for me is about 75% successful.

• I did notice something interesting for me the other day. If I place my finger on the sensor and press ever so slightly diagonal towards the display area (with a super light downward push) the sensor works better. Its kind of a weird thing to get use to. This is in relation to every app I use and even logging into the phone.

Maybe the staff can also offer some ideas, and or suggestions.

Cheers,

• thightower
    thightower
    Community Member
    edited August 2015

You posted in the Mac section. I am going to move it to the iOS section as its the only one (Apple device) with a fingerprint sensor and you specifically reference the iPhone 6+.

• dlm67
    dlm67
    Community Member