I was thinking...Is this possible?

Options
brucenye
brucenye
Community Member

I'm new to 1Password, but not to password managers in general. The one big issue (for any password manager) when working on iPad/iPhone is having to switch back and forth to copy a password and paste it in an app for login. Yuck!

I realize the some apps have 1Password support but most are obscure, at least to me, and the list is very small. So it got me thinking, is there any tricky method to support login to any app, regardless of 1Password support?

So here is my idea/suggestion. Maybe this has already been considered and its just not feasible. I realize that all but the active app are sent to background. So I'm not sure of the logistics. Like, do apps use standardized fields for username/password? Can 1P "look" to see what is swapped out to background? Can 1P capture/insert information needed? blah, blah....

Anyway...

• Have some sort of method to "notify" 1P that I'm logging into a new app.
  • capture the icon image of the app and store that in 1P.
  • use that to store 1P login information.
  • Basically, use the app icon instead of the URL.

Hey! Just a thought. You guys work out the details. :)

Still learning but like it much better than what I was using.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

The one big issue (for any password manager) when working on iPad/iPhone is having to switch back and forth to copy a password and paste it in an app for login. Yuck!

@brucenye: Agreed! It's certainly a challenge — both for users and developers! :dizzy:

So it got me thinking, is there any tricky method to support login to any app, regardless of 1Password support?