New to 1Pass setup

Options
fixmacs
fixmacs
Community Member

I am a computer home-office consultant. I use 1Pass but I find it extremely difficult to convince my clients to use your app because it's extremely difficult to install and setup. I am going through hell with a new setup now for a client. Said client has used Mac Safari password save in the past. I am having the client log into the websites manually and changing the passwords to stronger passwords using the 1Pass password generator. From there onwards it's a huge mess. 1Pass saves the location of the login as the password change url, not the login url. I have not been able to find any way to get the 1pass to work with the New York Times log in. After changing the password manually. the 1pass app never can log in to the NYT and no amount of fooling around with editing the 1Pass login url fixes it. Client cannot log in to the NYT, the SF Chronicle and dozens of other sites, all of which have funny login pop-up windows or pulldown menus. I am desperate. How can client use 1pass to generate a strong password, tell 1pass to save it, and then how do we tell 1pass to use the login credentials at the login url? Thanks.

1Password Version: 6
Extension Version: latest
OS Version: latest
Sync Type: don't know
Referrer: kb:fix-website-login

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@fixmacs: Unfortunately without some basic information it's hard to say what might be going wrong and how we might right it! Please tell me the OS, 1Password, and browser versions you're using (if you're using 1Password for Mac, it isn't version 6!), the exact steps you're taking, and what is (or is not) happening the way you expect so we can figure out the best plan of action.