1Password - Why I tried it and why I won't stay

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User]
Community Member

I have been using a password manager since early 2012. Before I ever decided to try one, I never really considered the importance of using unique and long passwords.

We all know the major password managers out there, and just recently, I decided that after 3 years of using the same one, it wouldn't be a bad idea to consider a different one. I zeroed in on 1Password for several reasons, seeing that they finally offered a version for Android I downloaded 1Password on my Mac and Android smartphone.

I've used it for the last 14~ days or so, and I've made the decision to stay with my previous manager. This post is only meant to provide some insight of why I've made that decision, and of course, I would also like to point out the things I've liked about 1Password.

1Password PROs:

• I've found 1Password for Mac to be very user-friendly. The interface feels modern and looks very nice.
  • I like how 1Password for browsers does the animation when it's filling out the fields. It really lets you know it's taking action and doing something for you.
  • Price: at first it may seem expensive but one-time payments are better than subscription fees.
  • 1Password for Android doesn't clutter the screen, it sits quietly and waits for you to switch keyboards to use 1Password whenever needed.
  • My first interaction with the support team was beautiful, I received a reply within minutes of sending in a ticket (the second time wasn't as fast, but that's alright, it happens)
  • Support forums and docs with loads of information for self-service

1Password CONs: