White Paper: My Feedback

Options
random_31731ec7aea
random_31731ec7aea
Community Member
edited November 2015 in Business and Teams

Hello,

I'm currently reading your White Paper and I enjoyed it. You did a fabulous work in designing the Software and documentation the design. At least from my Point of View. I'm just a guy who is interested in Security and Cryptography, but I'm not an expert. :-)

I just give you my thoughst. Maybe it sometimes sound like I am know everything (Cause of language issues) but they are always meant in a positiv critics and I'm aware there is always more then one way to do it. :-)

I may post more Feedback on this thread.
It would be nice to get a honest feedback if my Feedbacks really helps you or if it is just time consuming and you have already thought about it.
You can send me a private message about this. It just would save you and me time. :-)

I want your 1password4team to be a great success, cause 1password already delivered great value to my life and 1password4team is promising even more value.

A. Account_Key
On Page 46 you state that you store the account_key obfuscated. What will happend if you store it encrypted with derived Key from Masterpassword with an extra Salt ? Then your Webclient need simply use the derived Key to decrypte the account_key. I don't know if this add a weakness to Masterpassword if you use it to often do derived Keys from it. And surely a local malware could get arround of this limitations anyway, so I don't know is there is a value to do it. But IMHO it is important to give Feedback to you, even if I believe your Team already thought about, cause your are the experts :-)

B. DesignPattern
You should read https://www.boxcryptor.com/en/technical-overview since they did a quite similar desgin like you did.
They explain there way of doing in a structured way which is easy to follow for non experts.

I like their Definitions cause they make most things really clear.

C. Principles