"Failed to connect to 1Password mini"

Options
malorkus
malorkus
Community Member

I have never used 1Password before, yet I got this error on OS X after downloading and opening the latest from the AgileBits site. Any suggestions?

1Password Version: 5.4.1
Extension Version: N/A
OS Version: OS X 10.11.2
Sync Type: N/A
Referrer: kb:remove-multiple-apps, kb:error-connect-to-mini

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @malorkus,

Thanks for taking the time to contact us. I'm sorry that you are having some trouble.

This only applies if you are using the version of 1Password from the AgileBits Store on OS X El Capitan, which you indicated that you are. If anyone else comes across this thread in the future and is using the version from the Mac App Store or an older version of OS X, please see our support article Troubleshooting “1Password failed to connect to 1Password mini”.

With that disclaimer out of the way, this should resolve things for you:

1. Make sure that 1Password 5.app is located in the Applications folder.
    2. Open Terminal (found in the Applications folder under Utilities).
    3. Copy and paste the following into Terminal on a single line:

xattr -d -r -s com.apple.quarantine /Applications/1Password\ 5.app

4. Press Return.

5. Open 1Password again.
  • malorkus
    malorkus
    Community Member
    Options

@khad Thanks for the reply, but it didn't help. As before, the app starts up, beachballs for about a minute, then quits with the "failed to connect to 1Password mini" error. I even tried completely disabling app quarantine in OS X Settings, but it made no difference. Any other ideas? I'd like to try 1Password out before buying; Is that possible via the App Store?

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Apple does not allow trial versions on the App Store, but I'm sure we can resolve things for you. I see you already viewed our aforelinked support article: https://support.1password.com/error-connect-to-mini/