Network activity on Android

Options
FunKing
FunKing
Community Member

Hi there!

== INTRODUCTION ==

I've been using password managers for more than 10 years on mobile devices (starting with a Palm IIIxe), and now I'm looking for a good app on Android. I liked some of 1password's features (doesn't require an online account, is relatively small, the desktop app can import from many formats), and also liked the amount of information available on its website (including privacy details, forums and so on). Unfortunately, i noticed some unexplained network activity while using the app.

== PROBLEM ==

I have disabled Rich Icons in the app settings and also disabled Sync. Yet, I notice that 1Password for Android seems to try to connect to the Internet when I perform almost any operation, such as after entering my master password, creating/editing/deleting an entry or folder, and also when I do something as simple as (un)marking an entry as a favourite.

I've read the network activity page, but it doesn't say if that information applies to desktop and/or mobile apps. Anyway, it doesn't provide any explanation for the app to try to connect to the Internet right after any of the cited operations.

Maybe I'm missing something, so please let me know if there is a good reason for the app to perform this way, or if there is something to prevent this behavior.

Thanks!

1Password Version: 4.5.3
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Android 5.1.1
Sync Type: None

Comments

• saad
    Options

Hi, there! 1Password uses the network for Dropbox and Wi-Fi sync, downloading Rich Icons and using functionalities of the built-in web browser. While in trial mode, 1Password also periodically check for your purchase of the Premium Features using Google Play Services.