Can I make up my own Diceware word sequence? or does one *have* to use the generator?

Options
Sensel
Sensel
Community Member

Let’s say I am a farmer or rancher. I could make a passphrase that is easier for me to remember on some of my accounts.

Like: hell-freeze-over-prior-pigs-fly

or: buffalo-earth-horse-roam-dog-quail

Equally, I could totally fake it all out BUT known only to me the meaning of each word

peace-fearless-rabbit-salamander-rod-vomit

or do Diceware phrases have to be generated?

1Password Version: 6.0.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.10.4
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Can I make up my own Diceware word sequence? or does one have to use the generator?

Comments

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    edited March 2016
    Options

@Sensel -

do Diceware phrases have to be generated?

Part of the key to making Diceware pass phrases secure is that they must be generated completely randomly. Humans seldom chose truly random words. For example, people tend to pick only nouns. That doesn't apply to your examples, I see, but the word combinations you've used do have a relationship to each other. I've taken the advice from AgileBits to really make my choices random for my 1Password master password. It's almost the only password I need to remember after that, so it isn't so hard to memorize. Amd I make sure I have to enter it frequently to be sure it doesn't fade from memory.

This AgileBits blog post is a few years old by now, but still informative: Toward Better Master Passwords I've been a user since well before the time when 1Password itself could generate these pass phrases, and I used dice for mine to be sure it was a random selection from the word list.

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @Sensel,