No folders in 1PW for Teams?

ntimo
ntimo
Community Member

Hello,

I just started playing arround with 1PW for teams and found that there is no way to create a folder in the mac version. Is this supposted to be? And if it is why is there no way to create folders? Folders are a important way to organize data in 1PW for me. So if you can could you please consider adding support for them?

1Password Version: 6.0.1 Mac
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.11.3
Sync Type: 1PW for Teams

Comments

• Hello @ntimo,

Folders are something we have in 1Password but do not have in 1Password for Teams. For a long time we've had Folders and Tags for organization and with 1Password for Teams we have decided to only support tags. Tags work pretty well and in some ways they are better than folders. The only exception is you're unable to create a hierarchy of tags like you can with folders.

In theory we could add Folders back but it is quite low on the priority list as tags work quite well and Folders bring with them some technical challenges that we'd like to avoid.

One thing we want to add is an easy way to convert from Folders automatically to Tags when moving items and importing Vaults. That's something we hope to add in a future release.

I hope that helps!

• schrifor
    schrifor
    Community Member

Hello,

and what should I do on android? Tags are not supported on Android and Folders not for Teams.
    So, is there another way to group and sort data?

• Hi, @schrifor, and welcome to our forum!

I'm sorry about the tags issue. We're trying to get all our clients up to date with the same features, but we're not quite there. There's not currently another way to group data using 1Password for Teams, but I hope with you that we can get tags in 1Password for Android soon.

• vipconsult
    vipconsult
    Community Member

Using only tags would work, but should also allow some hierarchy (maybe subtags)