Suggestion: allow filling in login credentials for current page, regardless if URL matches

Options

Currently if you're on webpageX.com's login page and on the browser extension choose the Login for websiteY.com, the browser will open websiteY.com and fill in the info there. Now that's all fine, but I'd like to have the option to use the credentials for websiteY.com on webpageX.com's currently loaded form.

Use case: In order to watch streamed TV content on my PC or other devices I need to sign in to my ISP's website, but through the service provider's website. So for example, if I'm trying to use watchespn.com, they'll redirect me to a page that loads my ISP's website with a different URL than the one I have saved for my ISP in order to validate that I have an active subscription. I could save that URL, but it seems like every provider has a different URL for that functionality. Another similar case is with Google's or Microsoft's services all using the same account/password but having different URL's with login forms that you can use to log in (for example, Microsoft's MSDN portal comes to mind).

Is this something that you would consider for the future?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @enriquein,

When it comes to matching up potential Login items with the active tab in your browser we don't compare the full URL, we only care about the domain matching. So you shouldn't have to have multiple entries that all describe various paths on the same site unless you want different options for open and fill. The option open and fill is where you click on the URL and you're taken to that specific page so of course that has to have the full path to the required page.