Accessing my passwords if I don't have access to my computer

Options
CTond
CTond
Community Member

Last night I used 1Password to change my master password on my MacBook to a long random password...I'm new to Macs and didn't realize that password is also the password I use to unlock my screen to get into my computer. Well, now I can't get into my computer! How do I access my passwords if I can't get into the computer that contains all of them???

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: kb-search:login to 1 password from another computer, ug:mac/new-computer, kb-search:changed my computer password now can't login to my computer

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @CTond,

I'm sorry to hear you accidentally locked yourself our of your MacBook! Just to be sure I understand: You said you changed your "master password", which is the term we use to refer to the password that unlocks your data in the 1Password app. But it sounds like you changed the password you use to unlock your Mac (for example, when booting or restarting your Mac, or when turning off the screen saver). Is that correct? And if so, did you create & save that new Mac password in 1Password?

Although you only need to remember one password (your master password) to unlock 1Password, there are some circumstances when you may need to remember another password. Since you need to unlock your Mac before you can unlock 1Password, that's a good example of another password you would want to memorize. (I know that doesn't actually help with your current predicament, but I wanted to mention it for the future.) We have a good article about this on our blog: More than just one password: Lessons from an epic hack

Now, getting back to your question:

How do I access my passwords if I can't get into the computer that contains all of them???