Why move to Families?

Options
johnbeaty
johnbeaty
Community Member

This is not a troll. I've been using 1PW for several years. My wife, my son and I all share a "shared" vault and we each have a personal vault. This works as well as we need, but maybe there are features in Families that work even better! But I have no idea, as I haven't been able to find a comparison between shared vaults and Families. I tried the Families trial, but life got in the way before I could really explore. If it's got new stuff we need, I'd be happy to buy it.

FYI, I've read the various descriptions of Families, and haven't found them to be particularly edifying. It's the difference between the two methods and any other new features that I'm interested in. We're syncing 5 macs, maybe 12-15 iOS devices, 2 Windows machines and an android. Everything is as up to date as we can be.

Thanks

John

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @johnbeaty,

Thanks for taking the time to contact us. You ask a great question.

Can’t I already share vaults with 1Password?

The ability to share vaults via Dropbox is not going anywhere, but 1Password Families is much, much more than just another way to share vaults. Here are some of the things you can do with 1Password Families that aren’t possible otherwise:

• Share and sync without the need of a third-party sync service. Setting up syncing with Dropbox can be confusing for some folks. With 1Password Families, you sign in and all your data is there.
    • New vaults automatically show up for family members. When you create a new vault, you can add people to it automatically. They don’t need to do anything to see it and begin using it on their end.
    • Set permissions for each family member on each vault. Some passwords can be set to read-only, for example.