How secure is 1Password for Families?

Options
tekcor
tekcor
Community Member

We all know that 1Password is traditionally very secure. I'm in full control of my data and it absolutely cannot be decrypted with the password.

But what about 1Password for Families? If I understand correctly, the vault can be displayed in the browser. Doesn't this mean that Agile has the ability to decrypt the vault? I asked this question direct to customer support when Families was announced, but never got an answer.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• williamporter
    williamporter
    Community Member
    edited March 2016
    Options

tekcor asks: "If I understand correctly, the vault can be displayed in the browser. Doesn't this mean that Agile has the ability to decrypt the vault?"

I'm not an AgileBits employee and I'm not an expert at encryption or any related subjects, but I'm 99.99% sure the answer to your question is NO. Your password files sit on a remote server somewhere, thoroughly encrypted. When you connect via secure (https) connection in your browser, you'll have to provide the decryption key (your 1Password superpassword). Without that superpassword, nobody else can access your file—not AgileBits, not even the FBI.

(Hope I'm right. Pretty sure I am.)

Will

Addendum: NOTE that it's always been the case that your superpassword for 1Password is super important. I don't know what, if any, additional levels of protection (say, two-step authentication) AgileBits provides for 1P for Families. So it's critically important for that superpassword to be long and strong and for you not to share it with anybody, not to leave it lying around on a sticky note, etc.

• dszp
    dszp
    Community Member
    edited February 2018
    Options