1P 6 on Win10: Force me to create 1password acct?

dillera
dillera
Community Member
edited March 2017 in 1Password 4 for Windows

I've been a user of 1password for many many years- I use it on Mac and now installing it on a new W10 device. I have my credentials on DropBox and I'm not interested in moving them to 1password servers.

The 1P 6 - fresh install on fresh W10 - it won't just let me put in my master password and read my Dropbox keychain? It comes up with a screen to either login to 1P "account" or create a new one.

Please tell me how to have it just read my keychain from Dropbox or where I can download 1P4.

thannnnks

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• dillera
    dillera
    Community Member

Here is the screen that seems to come up no matter what:

• dillera
    dillera
    Community Member

Wow looking at my profile I've been using 1P for at least 8 years. Please don't make me create a 1P account to continue using it.

• dillera
    dillera
    Community Member

OK now I see why you are ignoring this. THERE is no other option.

I'm off to find my old installer for 1P4 windows and use that.

Sad sad days are here for 1P. Did the users actually ask for this? I'm not sure.

• MikeT
    edited March 2017

Hi @dillera,

Thanks for writing in. We're not ignoring the thread, we just haven't gotten to your thread yet.

1Password 6 is not an upgrade to 1Password 4, it is a new/young program only for 1Password.com memberships, that's why there is no option for local vaults, it is not supported nor fully implemented yet.

For now, only 1Password 4 supports local vaults with Dropbox. You can find it here: https://agilebits.com/downloads

We'd like to add full support for local vaults down the line to 1Password 6 but for now, we're focused on finishing up 1Password 6 with 1Password.com support first.

• dillera
    dillera
    Community Member