To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Chrome log-in: E-mail, password AND account key at each log-in?

Options
qooter
qooter
Community Member
edited January 2017 in Memberships

Hi there,
I've been using the stand-alone version 4 for 2 years now. Today I have changed to using an online account with version 6 on my windows desktop.
Whenever I start chrome trying to log-in online under my.1password.com I always have to give e-mail, password AND account key! Is that the way it's supposed to be? Kind of weird - especially because the browser add-in automatically inserts e-mail and password BUT NOT the account key.
Did I miss something?
Greetz from Germany,
Michael

PS: When I have logged-in successfully and open new log-in windows the account key is there. So the problem only occurs whenever I start chrome fresh!

1Password Version: 6.2333d
Extension Version: 6.2333d
OS Version: windows 10 64-bit
Sync Type: agile account
Referrer: forum-search:Account key at chrome log-in

Comments

• Hi @qooter - Thank you for reaching out to us. Most of the time you don't have to re-enter the account key since the browser caches this information. Are you using incognito mode? Or are you clearing your history after closing Chrome? Sorry for the questions, just want to get a better understanding of the issue. Keep me posted and I look forward to hearing back. Have a great day!

• qooter
    qooter
    Community Member
    Options

Hi Frank,
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, I'm clearing the "history and all" when I close my browser. So that's the reason why? If so, wouldn't it be better to use 2-way-authorization with the help of one's mobile? Getting the account key every time is really not so much fun - and not clearing the browser's cache is out of the question.
    Or is there a way to keep single info in the browser's history (like 1password info)?
    Greetz from Germany,
    Michael

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni