One username and password for multiple sites.

Yes yes... I know. That's evil. There are valid cases for this type of stuff. I'm a member of a dozen boards (like this one) where I would prefer to have the consistency and there is no real risk to having the same username / password combo.

The primary case for me though is because I am a developer (and will soon need to help QA do this). I carry five or six logins across 5 or more of our own servers, each of whose url can change on me.

I want to create a username password pair that I can favorite and use essentially anywhere. That pair **must ** apply to the page I am on, not start a new page.

Even better would be that functionality tied in with regex url matching! Then I could really go to town (and probably use urls)

1Password Version: 6.7.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.12.4
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• jxpx777
    jxpx777
    1Password Alumni

The only way to approximate what you're after is to add additional website entries to the Login that you want to reuse. I definitely understand that there are indeed certain times when the same credentials apply to multiple hostnames, so that's why we allow multiple URLs for a Login.

As for regular expression matching, this isn't something we can do because it would require decrypting the overview of every item in order to execute a regular expression against it, which would be horrendously slow. We keep a couple of hashes of each URL in your items so that we can efficiently look up Logins that match the current page. This wouldn't be feasible for storing regular expressions. The other point about regular expressions is that it is super easy to get them wrong and erroneously allow filling on a page where you really didn't intend it to.

I hope that helps. :)

--
    Jamie Phelps
    Code Wrangler @ AgileBits
    Fort Worth, Texas

• Dilapidus
    Dilapidus
    Community Member
    edited May 2017