Trying to optimize site for automatic filling

Greetings,

I'm a developer, and working on a redesign of an existing website. We're moving to a two-step login - username first, then password - very similar to how accounts.google.com does it "because reasons" that I'm not able to argue with at this time. Additionally, an email address field is always visible in the footer of the site, to allow newsletter signups.

I've got the email address field on the first step of the login working just fine with 1Password, but the password field on the second step just won't fill, no matter what I seem to do. On the password entry step, it insists on inserting the email address into the newsletter signup field in the footer, while leaving the actual password field completely blank.

A few notes that might be helpful - this entire site is a single page React app, so there is no actual page reloading going on ever, nor does window.location change between the username and password steps. I've tried to follow the suggestions to add ARIA and autocomplete hints as well.

The login email field element looks like this (ignore the error class):
<input type="email" name="email" value="" aria-label="Email" autocomplete="username" class="src-components-FormField-___FormField__error____1lg4">
It fills perfectly, and ignores the newsletter signup field, as it should.

The login password field element looks like this (again, ignoring the error class):
<input type="password" name="password" value="" aria-label="Password" autocomplete="current-password" class="src-components-FormField-___FormField__error____1lg4">

The newsletter email field element looks like this:
<input type="email" name="newsletter-email" value="" placeholder="email address" aria-label="Newsletter Email">