To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Can I access 1password from a computer at a friend's house? . I just opened a subscription..

Options
spedprof
spedprof
Community Member

Sorry, but as non techy newbie, I have a few questions. If I want access some account on a friends computer, i.e. to show something on his screen, now that I have converted to long complex passwords, I don't recall them. Can I open 1Password from such a computer. I have a subscription and I also have a Dropbox account and an ICloud account, but I do hope it is simple :) Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Can I access 1password from a computer at a friend's house? Is it a simple process to do so. I do have a Dropbox account but that seems complicated. I just pened a subscription, if that helps. Thanks

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@spedprof: Not a problem! Glad you reached out. That's what we're here for. :)

Accessing the data in your 1Password.com account is easy — you can do this in pretty much any modern web browser simply by signing in to 1Password.com using your Secret Key and Master Password.

However, there are a few caveats. First and foremost, it is generally not a good idea to access sensitive data from an unknown/untrusted computer. You can do it, but it's important to keep in mind that a computer you don't control could be used to capture your data and/or account information. I'm not suggesting that your friend would do this on purpose. They may be very trustworthy. But they may have accidentally installed malware on their computer, unbeknownst to both you and them.