Is a Primary vault necessary in order to have a different desktop Master password?

Options
ThomasK
ThomasK
Community Member

TL;DR version
Am I right that when using Family (or Teams), a local (i.e. not-in-the-cloud) Primary vault is still needed (although it can remain empty) if one wants to have a different Master password for use in the desktop app versus the Master used for the <mysite>.1password.com account?

Details
Since moving to Family and Teams, I no longer have need of a local Primary vault. However, I left it lying around for a while, even though it was empty. The other day, I decided to clean up and I deleted it, and as a result only narrowly avoided what could have been a bit of a disaster.

You see, although I have very long-and-strong Master passwords for my 1password.com accounts -- one in Family, and one in Teams -- for everyday use in the desktop app, I have a Master that is still tough but not just as long-and-strong as the ones out in the internet badlands. But what I hadn't realized was that that shorter desktop Master password was in some way intimately bound up with my unused-but-not-yet-deleted Primary vault. As soon as I did delete the Primary vault, it seems I also deleted the shorter Master password. That was a potential disaster because I then needed one of my long-and-strong Master passwords to access my Desktop app, and I do not know either of the long-and-strong Masters for my Family and Team accounts! They're too long-and-strong and so in fact I keep them in 1Password.[1] Fortunately my long-and-strong Masters are in vaults shared with my wife, and I also knew her shorter desktop Master, so I could get access that way. (Also, she's an admin so we could also have initiated recovery of mine.) So then, having obtained the required long-and-strong Master, I was able to use it to regain access to the desktop, and from there I re-created my Primary vault and reinstated my shorter-but-still-strong desktop Master (which is why I knew how to