Signing in to work email at work.

KathleenC
KathleenC
Community Member

I am a physician and need to sign into many different applications (ie. my work email) through the day from varying computers at the hospital. We have our own work accounts which we use to sign in to a computer before using it, and technically these accounts should be secure. Do you suggest using my iphone to look up each 1Password password for each application I access on these work computers or would it be fairly safe to sign into 1Password to copy and paste passwords. I ask because looking up typing up each individual password will be incredibly time wasting in a job that has little time to waste. As well, if my phone is dead (which if I'm stuck at the hospital for 12+ hours is likely to happen often) then I'm a bit screwed...

Any help?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @KathleenC

Thanks for taking the time to write in.

It sounds like these are shared computers. We generally don’t recommend using shared computers, but it sounds like in this situation you really don’t have much choice. Since you’ll be accessing the accounts you have stored in 1Password from these computers anyway, the risk doesn’t really seem to be increased here. Also I would suspect/hope that since confidential information is likely passed through these computers your IT department takes extra special care to make sure threats such as malware are limited.

I’m assuming you can’t / don’t want to install the full 1Password application on each of these computers. Obviously the native application provides the best experience, but it generally does require administrative rights to the computer to install, and also isn’t super convenient to have to install & keep updated on each computer if there are a bunch that you need to use.