To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Emergency backup of 1password.com vault to local / iCloud vault?

Options
drewe2000
drewe2000
Community Member

I have my Master Password (and the previous one) for my 1Password.com account, but neither is working. I can only assume I didn't record it correctly. :-/ I am still looking for my emergency kit paper, but I'm not very hopeful anymore.

I am setting up a new Mac, and trying to install 1Password there. I want it to sync with the Vault in the account I have hosted by 1Password.

Fortunately, I have access to the passwords in that vault because my iPhone app is installed and logged into that 1Password.com account.
I can't log into the 1password.com website, because the Master Password is incorrect (I have tried many times). The email and secret key are correct.

In the event that I cannot locate the correct Master Password, can I utilize the logged in app on my phone to rescue myself somehow?
If I could sync the 1Password.com account vault with a local vault over iCloud, I could reset the Master Password and sync the up to date local vault with the 1password.com account, and everything would be hunky dory.

1Password Version: 6.8.8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.13.14
Sync Type: iCloud and 1Password

Comments

• Corey_C
    Corey_C
    Community Member
    Options

Hi there @drewe2000

Yes, you can use your logged in phone in order to rescue your 1Password data, but moving it to a standalone vault and back isn't really the way to do that. If you lost your Master Password, then that account is toast. You will need to create a new one. Since you can still log in via Touch ID on your phone, the best thing to do is create a new account, connect it to the phone, transfer your data from the old account to the new one and then remove the old account.