My extension stopped working. Can't reinstall without secret key? Can't find that either...

Options
Alliej
Alliej
Community Member

My browser extension (chrome) stopped working 2 days ago. Grayed out. Today, I attempted to reinstall (as I've done in the past to fix this problem). However, the extension was did not appear in my chrome extensions tab. Version 6 and 7 appear in my applications folder.

When I try to log into my account to reinstall either version, I'm asked for a secret key. I don't have this. In fact, the little tutorial on how to go there, does not match the 1Password I have on my Mac, nor my iphone. I don't have a preferences, not accounts tab -- therefore, no secret key.

AND, 1 password could not find my email address. I just re-created an account, but I've been using 1 password since 2012 ...this doesn't make any sense. Can you help?

Thanks,
Allison

1Password Version: 6
Extension Version: 6.2.1
OS Version: OS X 10.13.6
Sync Type: icloud
Referrer: forum-search:extension isn't working

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Welcome to the forum, @Alliej! I'm sorry for the confusion. Not everyone who's been using 1Password for several years has an account. We mean something very specific when we say "account": it means, a 1password.com account that you've signed up for and are paying a monthly or annual subscription fee for. What many people who've been with us for a few years (before we had 1password.com accounts) have is a standalone license, to use 1Password on a single platform. Could that be you?