Is there one place with full explanation of how vaults work on Mac, where they're stored, etc.?

Options
jeffreyrodman
jeffreyrodman
Community Member

I am an engineer who has become totally confused since moving to 1Password 7. Where vaults are located, where they were in 6, what are best practices, how this ties in with Dropbox, multiple vaults, how it's different with a subscription vs one-time purchase (almost dropped my teeth when I realized that signing up made things worse instead of better) etc. The Forum is better than nothing but it's a collection of fragmented answers about different versions written at different times and varying validity. www.dropbox.com/guide leads me to the Business version which is not what I have. The guide at http://tic-recherche.crifpe.ca/docs/guides/en/Dropbox_guide.pdf is undated, so I can't really trust that. And the Dropbox website itself, where I look for the how-to and guides, is all marketing stuff, which is of no help.

Come on, guys! I like 1Password, but can no longer use it reliably! I don't want to start looking at Dashlane, Keeper etc., but If this doesn't get better I will have to. Please write a decent guide and make your website useful again, that's all I ask.

1Password Version: 7.2.1
Extension Version: 7.2.1
OS Version: OS X 10.14
Sync Type: Dropbox
Referrer: forum-search:how vaults work

Comments

• Jono_A
    Jono_A
    Community Member
    edited October 2018
    Options

I'm also confused! It seems since migrating to 1password 7 my "Personal" vault under my account name is now synced with Agilebits servers? Is this correct? On my iPhone I now have the new Personal vault and my Primary vault that syncs with iCloud (that I always used before) - so now everything is duplicated. Can I delete the primary vault on iCloud since the new personal vault is syncing with your servers?! Help!

• macindigo
    macindigo
    Community Member
    Options