Can two family members access their accounts on a single Mac login account

macbrass
macbrass
Community Member

I've been using the standalone client for many years. Considering going to the family plan so my wife can use 1Password on her iPad and computer. The issue is we both use the same login account on one of our Macs. Can we add both our 1Password accounts to that configuration so that when she wants to access her passwords she opens 1Password with her ID and account and vice versa for me? Basically the question is can we use two 1Password accounts on a single MacOS login account.

1Password Version: 7.2.5
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.13.6
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• peacekeeper
    peacekeeper
    Community Member

Can we add both our 1Password accounts to that configuration so that when she wants to access her passwords she opens 1Password with her ID and account and vice versa for me?

Yes and no. You can add 2 accounts to the 1Password and that works without a problem. The only limitation is that you unlock the App with the first account you add and then both accounts start syncing. It is not possible to just "switch" accounts on the fly.

• Hi @macbrass

It is not possible to sign in to multiple accounts within 1Password Families from the same macOS user account using 1Password for Mac. As I see it, there are a few different options:

1. You could use separate macOS user accounts [this is the recommended solution]
    2. You could share a 1Password account
    3. One of you could use 1Password for Mac, and the other could use the 1Password.com web interface to retrieve your passwords

Does that help?

Ben

• macbrass
    macbrass
    Community Member