Rename "+ New Password" / Easier access to favorites

Options
This discussion was created from comments split from: password generator in 7.3.

Comments

• mbernhardt
    mbernhardt
    Community Member
    Options

As another long-time user, I just want to chime in. I've been using 1Password for many years, I think since version 4 on Mac and 3 on Windows. Over time the interface and features have changed a lot, nearly for the better. Sometimes I have to look up how to do stuff, which is annoying. Sometimes the interface changes for reasons that seem purely cosmetic, and that's annoying. Change is always an annoyance. Having to learn Windows 10 after years of 7, or Word 2010 after Word 2003: THOSE were much bigger annoyances.

I appreciated Goldberg's extremely detailed explanation of why the password generator has changed, and the math behind it, and I'm perfectly willing to accept that. I have had far more cases on web sites where symbols were not accepted, rather than required and not present. In either case, I paste the password into a text editor and edit as needed, then save in both the web site and manually in 1Password.

It appears that the generator only changed in mini, not the main app, but I think it used to be available in the sidebar of the main app? Now it's only on a password field (or maybe it was in the sidebar in mini only). So putting it into the sidebar in the main app would solve some complaints of easy access. Those who need/want "control" can use the generator in the main app. Those who insist it should be in the mini will eventually insist that every other feature in the main app should be there too.

Definitely rename +New Password button and also make it more obvious, which is confusing as others have stated. The only reason I found this thread is because I couldn't figure out how to open the password generator today.