How to upgrade to 1Password 7

This discussion was created from comments split from: How to migrate from 1Password 6 to 1Password 7?.

Comments

• paulbartell
    paulbartell
    Community Member

I've been using 1Password for 5-6 years now, I'm on 1Password 6.8.9. I keep getting notices to Upgrade to 1Password 7 and I keep hearing about having a 1Password "account". Really, all I want 1Password to do is exactly what it does for me now. I have 2 MacBook Airs, 2 iPads and 2 iPhones all syncing through iCloud. I have to support this product for myself and my wife(I'm the techno-responsible family member).

Having said all that, I'm all for being on a relatively current piece of software so there would be a plus. I'm dreading having to do the migration to 7, wondering how many weeks I'm going to blow before its settled down, there's a negative. And I'm dreading having to re-train my wife on using a new package, there's a negative. The price is not a big deal, so there's a positive.

When I searched the web for "transition from 1Password6 to 7" I got this discussion... I'm hoping you guys have an actual document that can properly set expectations as well as relate the step-by-step involved in the transition. Don't need a features and benefits writeup.

• Hi @paulbartell

I'm glad to hear 1Password has been working well for you. I actually just had a very similar conversation with another customer who was essentially in the same boat. Here is what I recommended to them:

1. Sign up for a 1Password Families membership from your MacBook: https://start.1password.com/sign-up/plan
    2. Print your Emergency Kit that is presented to you as part of the signup process
    3. Download 1Password 7 for Mac on your MacBook and sign into your newly created account using the details from the Emergency Kit
    4. Follow the on-screen prompts to migrate your data
    5. Make sure 1Password for iOS is up to date and sign into your account on your iOS devices