App Store subscription, no secret key, can not log in

browncow
browncow
Community Member

I've been using 1Password for many years. I was setting up a new laptop and the Apple App Store installed 1Password 7. I have been syncing with Dropbox with 1Password 6, but decided to use a 1Password account since the App Store now signed me up for a subscription. Now I'm stuck with read only access. When I signed up through the App Store I didn't get any information about a Secret Key, but need that to log in anywhere now. I'm stuck.

1Password Version: 7
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OX X 10.14.6
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @browncow

I'm sorry to hear about the trouble. Did you sign up for a 1Password membership in a web browser, or within the 1Password 7 for Mac app? If you signed up using a web browser you would've been asked to download / print a copy of your Emergency Kit. You may find this document in your Downloads folder. If you signed up within the 1Password app your account should've been added to 1Password automatically. If you look in 1Password > Preferences > Accounts do you see your account listed?

Please let me know what you find. It may take some troubleshooting but I'm confident we can get to the bottom of this for you.

Ben

• browncow
    browncow
    Community Member

Thanks for the response Ben.

I purchased the subscription through the Apple App Store. I probably signed up for the free trial using a web browser, but I don't have the Emergency Kit anywhere I can find in my Downloads, Trash, or backups.

• @browncow

In that case I'd recommend:

Please let me know how that turns out.

Ben

• Edbonse
    Edbonse
    Community Member