Python script for retrieving un, pw and/or totp from op cli

Doc5506
Doc5506
Community Member
edited April 2020 in CLI

Made this script for myself. I am doing some browser automation to retrieve my account information and statements periodically using python3 and selenium. I did not want to embed my log in credentials in my script and therefore created this script. The script prompts me to log into one password, but then retrieves my website login credentials by interfacing with the op cli. The script can be run independently as its own mini cli or embedded into other python scripts directly or as a module.

I am still learning to program so would welcome any feedback if deficiencies are found, but generally just wanted to share. Thanks to @Matthew_1P who helped me out when I was stuck.

#!/usr/bin/env python3

import subprocess
import sys
import json

def get_un_and_pw(op_item, session_token):
    """
    1. run shell command to get json data from op cli
    2. convert json to python dictionary
    3. dict['details']['fields'] has a list of dictionaries with un and pw
    4. extract username(un) and password(pw)

dict['details']['fields']

[{'designation': 'password', 'name': 'password', 'type': 'P', 'value': 'this_is_a_fake_password'},  {'designation': 'username', 'name': 'username', 'type': 'T', 'value': 'fake_username'}]
    """
    # get json data of op_item
    shell_command = ["op", "get", "item", op_item, "--session", session_token]
    json_data = subprocess.check_output(shell_command)

# convert json_data into python dict
    op_dict = json.loads(json_data)

# extract un and pw
    for dict_item in op_dict["details"]["fields"]:  # looping over list of dictionaries
        try:
            if dict_item["designation"] == "password":
                pw = dict_item["value"]
        except KeyError:
            pass
        try:
            if dict_item["designation"] == "username":
                un = dict_item["value"]
        except KeyError: