News User - Two Questions

I am new to 1Pasword and using it on Windows 10 and Android, both the app and the browser (Chrome) extension 1Password X. I have two questions:

1) When creating new logins, I often get two entries for one login. One entry has the correct icon for the site and the website address, the other has the generic login icon and no website address. What am I doing wrong?

2) Is there any way to prevent 1Password (and X) from asking for my master password, even if I have used it previously in the same session? It seems to do this only sometimes, at other times it doesn't ask for the master password a second time. I have turned Auto Lock off in Settings in both the app and browser extension, but these settings sometimes get reset for no apparent reason.

Thanks for any assistance.

1Password Version: 7.4.767
Extension Version: 1.19.1
OS Version: 10.0.19041
Sync Type: 1Password account

Comments

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

Hey @JWadle47 ,

1) When creating new logins, I often get two entries for one login. One entry has the correct icon for the site and the website address, the other has the generic login icon and no website address. What am I doing wrong?

It sounds like a Password item that is automatically created when you use the passwords generator, but that shouldn't happen if you use 1Password X, so if you can, please upload a screenshot here of such an item so we can understand what it is. Make sure to censor out any sensitive information as this is a public forum. What I want to see is the icon of that item and where exactly you're seeing it.

2) Is there any way to prevent 1Password (and X) from asking for my master password, even if I have used it previously in the same session? It seems to do this only sometimes, at other times it doesn't ask for the master password a second time. I have turned Auto Lock off in Settings in both the app and browser extension, but these settings sometimes get reset for no apparent reason.