Can I still use Safari extension?

Roger_Clark
Roger_Clark
Community Member
edited August 2020 in 1Password 3 – 7 for Mac

I run OS/X 10.11.6 and Safari 11.1.2 - my Mac is too old to upgrade. I have been using 1Password for several years - I think I purchased a licence but I have never subscribed. I have always used the 1Password Safari extension but it has recently disappeared. Reading the website it appears that: (1) I need to upgrade to 1Password 7, (2) I will have to take out a subscription and (3) I con't run 1Password 7 with Safari 11.

Is this correct, and are there any alternatives?

1Password Version: 6.8.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.11.6
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• Hi @Roger_Clark

I hate to be the bearer of unwelcome news... but I really think it may be time to consider a new Mac. You are correct that to use 1Password with modern versions of Safari you'd need 1Password 7, however your Mac is not capable of running 1Password 7. As a security focused company we'd always recommend running the latest versions of all of your software, but especially your operating system, web browser(s), and 1Password. 1Password 6 has been retired and hasn't been updated for over 2 years, and the same is also true of macOS 10.11. We're not financial advisors, and I know these devices are expensive, but if the device is old enough that it will no longer run the latest operating system it may be time to start planning for a newer model.

I realize that probably isn't what you were hoping to hear, but that's the best advise I can give considering the position I sit in. I hope that helps. Should you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to ask.

Ben

• Roger_Clark
    Roger_Clark
    Community Member

I was afraid of that! It had to happen sometime. Will I also have to subscribe to 1Password or will my existing licence suffice?

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

@Roger_Clark: