Temporarily removing Desktop App Integration

Comments

• bradpinkston
    bradpinkston
    Community Member

Sign me up for whatever alpha you have for the next generation. The chrome user experience of 1PasswordX is so much better than that of the extension that works with the desktop client. I'm seriously considering ditching the full client to leverage 1PasswordX because the user experience is worth having to reenter my master password versus TouchID.

Kudos to the 1PasswordX team. Now get back to work and deliver that TouchID integration. ;)

• cherrydrpepper
    cherrydrpepper
    Community Member

I just got the auto-update and saw the removal of the DAI feature, and wanted to voice my frustration at the change. As a developer myself I 100% understand the motivations and the pain of long-running diverging versions/features, but I still request that you reconsider the decision.

Given the length of time that this very valuable feature has been around, I would assume that many users are actively using it and are now left with unsatisfactory options for the next few months. The companion extension is not a usable alternative to 1Password X, and Safari is not a viable option compared to Chrome (maybe that'll change with Big Sur, but that's a ways off too). And my master password is very long (even though it is memorable) and I don't enjoy typing it out.

As an alternative - is there going to be some alpha build of the replacement feature available soon that we could begin testing? I'd be OK dealing with new rough edges if it helps get the feature into the full production version sooner.

What about some simple workarounds in the meanwhile? Using KeyChain plus automator to autofill the master password based on a keyboard shortcut or something? Not sure if that's possible, and I'd guess there's some security pitfall to doing it...

• Lee_B
    Lee_B
    Community Member