...Questions re De-cluttering 1PW

Options

Hi

First I want to thank you guys for being so helpful.
I am so happy that I decided to purchase 1PW.

Here's my question.
I'm still very new at using 1PW.
I looked at my PWs in the Windows desktop app.
Many of my accounts have multiple pws (see attached).

Should I get rid of the extras?
Which one should I keep?
Is there any way to prevent this from happening?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• I think starting with determining why it happened in the first place would be best, @ethan417. If these are real duplicates, then deleting the extras is great, but if – just for example – you ended up with these duplicates as the result of importing multiple times, the simpler path may be to clear everything out and just do one single import for a nice clean database. So, how did you pull of your data in? Did you import from a browser or another password manager? Did you maybe do this more than once on multiple devices? Let me know and we'll see if we can't devise a good cleanup strategy from there. :+1:

• ethan417
    ethan417
    Community Member
    Options

I pulled them from Chrome.
    I'm pretty sure I did it only once.
    There are over 400 items.

I have another question.
    I updated my PayPal PW using the browser extension in Brave.
    When I looked at the window app - there are 3 PP log-ins - all have the same "old" PW.
    None have the new PW.
    But when I went to PP via the Brave browser, I was able to get into my PP account.
    The Brave browser has the new PW.

• Greg
    Greg
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @ethan417,

Do you use 1Password on any other devices? Do you remember migrating your data on other device as well?

As for your new question:

I updated my PayPal PW using the browser extension in Brave.
    When I looked at the window app - there are 3 PP log-ins - all have the same "old" PW.