please add a preference to toggle visibility of ratings generated by 1Password

JimmyMtl
JimmyMtl
Community Member

Every password I generate with 1Password shows Fantastic but when it’s used for a brand new login, and a subsequent entry is made for the login, the same password is marked as either duplicate or as Terrible.
This is annoying because I've been using 1Password for twelve years and all my passwords are excellent or fantastic and I respectfully disagree that your algorithm should consider provenance in it’s evaluation.

Many websites create new user accounts on a subdomain different from the principal or login domain. Just because 1Password doesn't know that it didn't create the password is not a good reason to mislabel a password Terrible. In fact, it undermines the whole process of teaching users what a good password looks like and giving them confidence in using a password manager. Just try explaining to an elderly family member why their password is Terrible. Oh the program just says that, you can ignore it is an unacceptable answer.

Since this has been an ongoing issue since at least February 2019 https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/101712/why-is-this-a-terrible-password, please consider a adding a preference setting to toggle the visibility of the arguably worthless ratings generated by 1Password.

1Password Version: 7.6
Extension Version: built-in
OS Version: 10.14.6
Sync Type: iCloud
Referrer: forum-search:How can I disable password rating?

Comments

• Ben
    Ben
    edited September 2020

Hi @JimmyMtl

There are a few issues here leading to what you're seeing:

1. Workflow: It sounds like you're making this harder on yourself than necessary, and also ending up with duplicate records as a result. Would you mind walking me through the steps you're taking where you're ending up with both a Login item and a Password item? You may be able to save yourself a number of steps and also avoid this situation with a modified workflow.