To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

fido2 webauthn and iphone

Options
matthewsx
matthewsx
Community Member

Hi,

I've been using 1 password for probably 5 years and it syncs between all my Apple devices through iCloud. I assume my license type is standalone since I don't have any login account and don't get billed every month.

As a network admin I have many different systems including Windows and Linux, and have also been using Google password sync for some "less important" accounts.

So, here's my question:

I'd like to "move beyond passwords" and consolidate my password management onto a fido2 device, preferably my iPhone with 1 password. Has anyone done this? I like the idea of all my accounts syncing across all my different devices and managed through WebAuthn but I'm worried that I may be a little early (or late) to the party.

What account would I need to do this and is it even possible?

John

1Password Version: 7.6.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac, iOS, Windows 10, Ubuntu Linux
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• Hi @matthewsx

Thanks for taking the time to write in. 1Password membership accounts do support using U2F. This does not replace the Master Password, however. The Master Password (and Secret Key) are still used to encrypt the data you store in 1Password. U2F is only used to protect the device authorization process. You can read more about this here:

Use your U2F security key as a second factor for your 1Password account