Option to show the characters as I enter my master password to unlock 1passwordX on chrome?

Options

I have a strong master password and sometimes when entering it I get part way through and think that I may have entered an incorrect character. I then have to either back out and re-do or I can carry on in the (sometimes vain) hope that I've got all the characters right.

This happens on my PC which is in my home office and facing away from any windows so I can't be overlooked whilst entering the master password.

Is there any setting that I can use to enable the 1passwordX password entry field to actually show the characters as I type them?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: 1.2.2.1
OS Version: Windows 10
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Option to show the characters as I enter my password to unlock 1passwordX/chrome

Comments

• Hello @ObjectConsulting

Thank you for reaching out and letting me know about the issue you encountered while using 1Password. For security reasons, 1Password doesn't have the option to show your Master Password for correction.

We understand that it could be inconvenient and already have a plan to let users use fingerprints or PIN to unlock it with the app integration feature. I can't tell you the exact date, but you can go here for more information about the app integration.

• ObjectConsulting
    ObjectConsulting
    Community Member
    Options

Hey @nhat_1P looks like you got the wrong @ here: @objectivedynamics is the OP

• objectivedynamics
    objectivedynamics
    Community Member
    Options

That really is a shame.

As it stands 1passwordX allows the user to paste into the password field. Any user that realises this might take advantage of it by typing their password into some place that they can verify it visually, copying it to the clipboard and pasting it into the password box.